Contact us


All times are UTC - 8 hours



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
Offline Profile  


Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 8:43 pm
Posts: 4
Hi All,

I'm new to this forum and VSS also. We are planning to buy VSS. I want to know the requirements of VSS and which database it uses. Is it necessary to buy visual studio with vss.

Thanks,
Suriya


Offline Profile  


Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 12:23 am
Posts: 1315
Hi Suriya,

Welcome to this forum. A Visual SourceSafe database is file system database. And the tool can be integrated with Visual Studio.
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... 40(v=vs.80).aspx

If you are new to Visual SourceSafe, I don't recommend you use this source control tool, as its database is easy to be corrupt and Microsoft has stopped providing any support. I suggest you use SourceAnywhere Standalone, which is SQL server-based version control software with seamless integration with Visual Studio, Eclipse, and other IDEs, cross-platform support, and unique caching mechanism for remote performance. If you are interested in this product, you can go to the following page to learn more.
http://www.dynamsoft.com/Products/versi ... where.aspx

To evaluate the product, you can download the 30-day free trial here:
http://www.dynamsoft.com/Downloads/SAWS ... nload.aspx

_________________
Catherine Sea
Dynamsoft Support Team
Follow us@Twitter, Facebook


Offline Profile  


Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 8:43 pm
Posts: 4
Hi,

Thanks for the reply, Is it Visual studio must for installing or using VSS.

Thanks,
Suriya


Offline Profile  


Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 12:23 am
Posts: 1315
Hi Suriya,

Do you mean whether it is necessary to install Visual Studio in order to use VSS? If yes, the answer is no. Besides doing operations within the IDE, you can also perform source control operations through VSS Client.

_________________
Catherine Sea
Dynamsoft Support Team
Follow us@Twitter, Facebook


Offline Profile  


Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 8:43 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks, Whats the requirement for install VSS in server, Is there any server edition for VSS is there and tell me any other requirements like database software etc..

Thanks,
Suriya.


Offline Profile  


Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 12:23 am
Posts: 1315
You can find the info here:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... 49(v=vs.80).aspx

_________________
Catherine Sea
Dynamsoft Support Team
Follow us@Twitter, Facebook


Offline Profile  


Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 8:43 pm
Posts: 4
Content not found

Link is not working


Offline Profile  


Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 12:23 am
Posts: 1315
Sorry about that. Please check the article on SourceSafe requirements here.

Regards,

_________________
Catherine Sea
Dynamsoft Support Team
Follow us@Twitter, Facebook


Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ]  Moderators: Robert, Catherine


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:

Copyright © 2016 Dynamsoft | All Rights Reserved
dynamic designed by Dynamsoft team