Contact us


All times are UTC - 8 hours



   [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
User avatar
   


Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 1:39 pm
Posts: 72
Starting with VSS and SAWS 2.x I formatted all the C type code with the following header

#define GS_REVISION "$Revision: 1 $"

/* $Header: /DSL/BarcodeGateway-V9.5/DSL70fp1/Config/GSChangeLog.h 1 2010-09-03 18:21:20 admin $
* The Change Log
*/
/*
*
* bla bla bla
* bla bla bla
*
* $Log: /DSL/BarcodeGateway-V9.5/DSL70fp1/Config/GSChangeLog.h $
************************************************
*3 2010-09-03 18:21:29 admin
************************************************
*2 2010-09-03 18:21:25 admin
************************************************
*1 2010-09-03 18:21:20 admin
*/

but V3.0 beta inserts the logs with a /* and */ around them.
This ends up like this;

#define GS_REVISION "$Revision: 1 $"

/* $Header: /DSL/BarcodeGateway-V9.5/DSL70fp1/Config/GSChangeLog.h 1 2010-09-03 18:21:20 admin $
* The Change Log
*/
/*
*
* bla bla bla
* bla bla bla
*
* $Log: /DSL/BarcodeGateway-V9.5/DSL70fp1/Config/GSChangeLog.h $
/*
************************************************
*4 2010-09-03 18:22:29 admin
*/
************************************************
*3 2010-09-03 18:21:29 admin
************************************************
*2 2010-09-03 18:21:25 admin
************************************************
*1 2010-09-03 18:21:20 admin
*/
So of course the compiler errors out just after the revision 4 note

I tried reformatting it by adding a */ to the end of the $Log: line but the comment update strips it away leaving me with the same problem.

After some mucking around I found I can add a /* just before the first comment prior to check in.

Trouble is with this change I have thousands and thousands of source code files and now with ever check in I have to change this comment. Also creating pre-checkin notes cause troubles if they are left there on first checking.

I think the /* */ came as a response to a previous comment problem and as such I've been looking for the configure options to change it but can not find it.

This is going to be a big problem for me and any company that requires a standard layout for each source code file's header.


   


Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 12:23 am
Posts: 1315
Hi isdgre,

Thanks for your feedback.

Our development team is now working on fixing the issue. We are planning to use // instead of /* */, for example

V3.0 Beta:
/*
************************************************
*4 2010-09-03 18:22:29 admin
*/

The coming official version (will be released in 30 days):
//************************************************
//*4 2010-09-03 18:22:29 admin

If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to let me know.

Regards.

_________________
Catherine Sea
Dynamsoft Support Team
Follow us@Twitter, Facebook


User avatar
   


Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 1:39 pm
Posts: 72
Yup, that should work for the multi-line comments as well.


User avatar
   


Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 1:39 pm
Posts: 72
You know, if you go into

Dynamsoft SourceAnywhere Standalone Server Manager -> SourceAnywhere -> Repositories -> Keyword Expansion File Types
Then click one of the items and pick edit.

A dialog box comes up. On that dialog box if you just add a field users can type in the comment boxing text. i.e. "//" or what have you. Then you wont keep running into this problem.

Sure you should default it to // but then users can put # for .ps1 files, REM for .vb etc..

Actually since your have to fix this yet again. Putting the eight bounding boxes fields there would put an end to this.

tl tm tr
lf <CommentMinWidth> le
bl bm br


so your old version would be;
tm = ******************************
lf = *

the V3.0beta would be
tl = /*
tm = ******************************
lf = *
br = */

your current reposed solution would be

tm = // ********************
lf = // *

Then the logic would be something like
if(len(tl)<>0 and len(tm)<>0 and len(tr)<>0) {
puts(tl); puts(tm); puts(tr);
}
while(GetTheCommentTextLine()) {
puts(lf); puts(TheCommentTextLine); puts(le);
}
if(len(bl)<>0 and len(bm)<>0 and len(br)<>0) {
puts(bl); puts(bm); puts(br);
}

Basically that's it. That would work for all types of source code files.
You may want to do some processing of TheCommentText to make sure there is some kind of minimum width so br looks right.


   


Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 12:23 am
Posts: 1315
Hi isgdre,

Thanks for your detailed explanation.

Quote:
On that dialog box if you just add a field users can type in the comment boxing text. i.e. "//" or what have you. Then you wont keep running into this problem.
I have forwarded it to our development team. And I will let you know if the feature can be included in the coming offical version.

Best Regards.

_________________
Catherine Sea
Dynamsoft Support Team
Follow us@Twitter, Facebook


   


Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 12:23 am
Posts: 1315
Hi isgdre,

Quote:
On that dialog box if you just add a field users can type in the comment boxing text. i.e. "//" or what have you. Then you wont keep running into this problem.
I am afraid that this new feature will not be included in SourceAnywhere Standalone 3.0. But our team will surely consider your suggestion in the coming minor version (might be available in the first half of 2011).

Thanks for your continuous support. I wish you all the best in the new year :)

Best Regards.

_________________
Catherine Sea
Dynamsoft Support Team
Follow us@Twitter, Facebook


Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
   [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Copyright © 2016 Dynamsoft | All Rights Reserved
dynamic designed by Dynamsoft team
Fatal: Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php