Contact us


All times are UTC - 8 hours



   [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
   


Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 10:48 am
Posts: 5
Hello, I have been using Server v5.2 and Client v5.3.2 for several months with no problems. I recently installed the Cache Server (v5.2) on an XP machine that has a VPN connection to the main server.

Problem: When I attempt to get a folder with a large number of files to an empty hard drive folder, I get many 'Socket Error' messages, and sometimes the Cache server terminates with a run-time error (I have included the text of the event log message for the crash below.)

I do not think this is a problem with the VPN connection, because running the client on the XP machine, connecting directly to the server, I can get large folders with no problem, I have been doing that for months.

Thank you for your help,
Andy

Event Log Message:
Event Type: Information
Event Source: Application Popup
Event Category: None
Event ID: 26
Date: 4/22/2009
Time: 12:04:21 PM
User: N/A
Computer: XXXX
Description:
Application popup: Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library : Runtime Error!

Program: ...e for VSS Professional Cache Server\SAWVCacheService.exe


This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
Please contact the application's support team for more information.


For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.


   


Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 12:23 am
Posts: 1315
Hi,

This issue has never been reported before. Would you please provide us the following information so that we can troubleshoot the issue better?
1. Is the SourceAnywhere for VSS Cache Server in the same LAN as the SAW Client?
2. How large and how many files were you getting when the issue occurred?
3. Socket error is mainly a network issue. Would you please check if your network is stable?
4. Are you using any secured port, like blowfish or SSL?

Thanks.

_________________
Catherine Sea
Dynamsoft Support Team
Follow us@Twitter, Facebook


   


Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 10:48 am
Posts: 5
Thanks for your reply, Catherine. Here are the answers to your questions:

(1) Is the SourceAnywhere for VSS Cache Server in the same LAN as the SAW Client?
Yes. They are both on my home network.

(2) How large and how many files were you getting when the issue occurred?
Approx. 800 files, 9.42MB total.

(3) Socket error is mainly a network issue. Would you please check if your network is stable?
My network is very stable. As I said before, when I connect directly to the SAW Server from the client, I don't have any problems. But when I connect using the Cache server, the problem happens every time.

(4) Are you using any secured port, like blowfish or SSL?
The VPN connection to the main SAW Server is made using SSL.

Some more information:

- This problem happens even when I connect to the cache server from the client running on the same machine. Then when I connect that same client to the main SAW Server, it works fine.

- When the folder on my hard drive is not empty and there are only a few new files to get, the problem does not happen. This makes me think that the problem is caused by the large number of files that it has to download.


   


Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 12:23 am
Posts: 1315
Hi,

Thank you for your information.

We have not reproduced your issue. We are going to release SourceAnywhere for VSS 5.4, in which the Cache Server logging will be improved. Would you please try the SourceAnywhere for VSS Cache Server 5.4 to see what the exact error is?

You can download the new version of Cache Server here:
http://www.dynamsoft.com/download/Suppo ... Server.zip

If the problem persists, please send us the log of Cache Server and let us know the version number of your VSS so that we can look deeply into this issue.Also, you can contact us via LiveHelp to schedule a GoToMeeting, with which you can share your desktop with us. LiveHelp can be found here:
http://www.dynamsoft.com/support/Livehelp.aspx

Thanks.

_________________
Catherine Sea
Dynamsoft Support Team
Follow us@Twitter, Facebook


   


Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 10:48 am
Posts: 5
Catherine, I will try that, but first, can you confirm for me that Cache Server 5.4 is compatible with Server 5.2 ?


   


Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 12:23 am
Posts: 1315
Hi,

Yes. SourceAnywhere for VSS Cache Server 5.4 is compatible with Server 5.2.

Thanks.

_________________
Catherine Sea
Dynamsoft Support Team
Follow us@Twitter, Facebook


   


Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 10:48 am
Posts: 5
Catherine, since I installed Cache server version 5.4, I have not had any problems. I consider this problem fixed.

Thanks,
Andy


   


Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 12:23 am
Posts: 1315
Great :D

_________________
Catherine Sea
Dynamsoft Support Team
Follow us@Twitter, Facebook


Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
   [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Copyright © 2016 Dynamsoft | All Rights Reserved
dynamic designed by Dynamsoft team
Fatal: Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php